Picture of                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Dr. Jeffrey McDonnell

Dr. Jeffrey McDonnell Principal Investigator

Jeffrey J. McDonnell is Professor of Hydrology and Associate Director of the Global Institute for Water Security at the University of Saskatchewan (Canada), University Distinguished Professor of Hydrology (adjunct) at Oregon State University (USA), 6th Century Chair of Hydrology at the University of Aberdeen (UK) and Honorary Professor of Hydrology at the Nanjing Hydraulic Research Institute (China). Prior to returning to Canada in 2012, he was the Richardson Chair in Watershed Science at Oregon State University since 1999. He was a Commonwealth Scholar to New Zealand and completed his PhD at the University of Canterbury in 1989; he was awarded the DSc in 2009. Prof. McDonnell’s research focuses on new ways to measure, understand and model streamflow generation processes. Jeff has coauthored ~200 journal articles on watershed hydrology and co-edited the Elsevier textbook “Isotope Tracers in Catchment Hydrology”. Jeff has been USRA Fellow at NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, STA Fellow at the Japan Forestry and Forest Products Research Institute, Hayward Fellow at Landcare New Zealand, Gledden Fellow at University of Western Australia, STINT Fellow at Stockholm University and Nannerl Keohane Distinguished Visiting Professor, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Duke University. He is a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union, the Geological Society of America, the International Water Academy and the Royal Geographical Society (UK). He has received the Dalton Medal from the European Geophysical Union, the Birdsall-Dreiss Distinguished Lecturer Award from the Geological Society of America, the Gordon Warwick Award from the British Geomorphological Research Group, the Nystrom Award from the Association of American Geographers He is currently President-Elect of the AGU Hydrology Section.